whatdoiluv

Before, After and some Bits in Between

Strength 07/28/2011

Part of the marathon route

This week has been great so far for training. Here’s what I’ve done:

Monday 25th: rest

Tuesday 26th : 20min stairs – various weights for my legs and core – 5km on the treadmill

Wednesday 27th: 10 minutes running warm up/ 10x300m sprinting with 150m rests./ Cool down. It was all about 8km

Thursday 28th: 15km planned, steady run

Friday 29th: 8km planned, steady run

Saturday 30th: 6km planned, steady run

Sunday 31st: 32km planned, run/ walk

If all goes as planned for the remainder of the week I’ll be doing great for the Quebec City Marathon on Aug. 28th.I’m not too sure how I feel about my times  but at least I know I’m working my butt off to get there!!

So; strength. For a really long time I’ve known that I have what it takes on the inside to carry me through 42.2 km. This I can do. The mental strength required is absolutely amazing but somehow I am able to talk myself through it.

The “other” strength that I’m now working on is how to push my body to new limits in order to run faster. Just in adding weights once a week I feel stronger. I have also paid more attention to hills (which I still find are my weakness) and speed work.

Stay tuned… just about a month to go until race day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

