whatdoiluv

Before, After and some Bits in Between

We judge ourselves…. 07/25/2011

…by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done.

On July 17th I turned 30.

Nothing feels any different except for the fact that I’m not waiting on any epic and life-changing birthdays any time soon. Life goes on and that day gets further and further behind you.

When someone turns 30 are they expecting something to happen? Should something happen? Is there a line drawn somewhere that indicates where you should be in your life?

In my 30 years here on earth I’ve achieved and accomplished quite a lot. I have a great job, I have a house, car… I am extremely healthy, I run marathon’s, I have wonderful boyfriend that loves me and takes care of me…who I love and take care of as well.

…..but; I currently live at my mother’s house because of where my job is in relation to my house… and the fact that I can’t sell the house.

Does that mean that I failed the test and I’m below that line?  Do any of the other things I’ve accomplished mean anything towards being above the line?

I’m hard on myself…. I am REALLY hard on myself. Sometimes I forget about all the things I’ve done in my life and only focus on what is right in front of my face.  I love my mother and I don’t know where I’d be at this moment without her help… however this is not exactly where I thought I’d be at thirty.

On the other hand… Travelling the world with Scouts Canada… fundraising in order help build homes and bathrooms in third world countries…. seeing children there smile; that is no small accomplishment. My point here is not to toot my own horn… it’s to remind everyone (myself included) that the people around you are seeing the whole picture. They are not judging solely on where you are today but also on where you’ve come from. I’m talking about the people around you that know you and love you for who you are and what you went through to become that person.

Stand up, Smile, Be Strong.  Breathe…..

Remember that it is not who you are that holds you back; it’s who you think you are.

El Salvador..... feels peaceful

 

Leave a Reply

